MaxWell Medical

Rockstar of the Month: Melissa Soquite

In Lifestyle, Our Staff, Sports on 07/13/2011 at 1:48 pm

Loves to swim, play volleyball and was a track star for two years at Velez College. Yes, MaxWell Medical has another athletic staff member and her name is Melissa Soquite.

Born and raised in the Philippines, Melissa has been an avid swimmer since the age of 6 and learned to play volleyball in grade school. But it wasn’t until sophomore year of college when she realized her “lightening” speed and her love of the track.

In a matter of ten years, Melissa moved to the U.S., back to the Philippines and returned back to the U.S., received her degree in Physical Therapy, and is now engaged to her fiancé Russell.

With a wedding set for next year in their homeland of the Philippines and working at MaxWell Medical, Melissa was able to take some time out of her busy day to answer a few questions for us.

Q/A-

1. Who is your favorite super hero?

I would have to say the “Invisible Woman” in Fantastic Four. But I think more so of her abilities than the character herself. It would be nice to be able to go anywhere and do anything without restrictions.

2. Which song best fits your image and why?

I would have to say any song that fits the mood at the moment. But for life in general, I like the lyrics for the song “Unwritten” by Natasha Bedingfield. It makes me think of living for the moment, learning from my mistakes and keeping an open mind!

3. What is the one thing that you have done in your life that you would want to undo?

All the experiences I have encountered in life are equally important in helping me grow, so I don’t want to undo any of them.

4. Which is the trait you love the most and least about yourself?

I think my being shy holds me back from a lot of things and I am constantly trying to work on getting over it (Like this very personal interview!). But I do appreciate my persistence and perseverance getting me through tough situations.

5. Why did you become a Physical Therapist?

Growing up, I idolized my mother who was a strong hardworking nurse. I always knew I would be in the healthcare field as well. During my junior year of high school, I began receiving more information regarding the physical therapy program and once I started college, I followed my dreams.

Would you like to find out more about Melissa Soquite? Post your questions on our Facebook and/or Twitter pages.

  1. I love Melissa! She’s very sweet.

Leave a Reply

